Article Image Alt Text

Aundrea Haberer awarded a 2019 Rudd Scholarship

The Rudd Foundation is proud to announce its second class of Rudd Scholars, who will each receive a 4-year college scholarship to attend either Emporia State University, Fort Hays State University or Wichita State University. The scholarship covers all remaining tuition and fees, books and supplies, and room and board. The expected value for all 25 winners over four years is $1.4 million.

Aundrea Haberer, a senior at Sylvan-Lucas Unified High School, was one of the 25 chosen for a 2019 Rudd scholarship. Haberer plans to attend Fort Hays State University next year. “We couldn’t be more pleased with the exceptionally high-caliber, well-rounded students that were chosen for this year’s Rudd Scholarship,” said Peter Najera, President of the Rudd Foundation. “We expect them to maintain their grades and graduate in 4 years and in return they will earn their degree debt free.”

This year, 15 students will be going to Wichita State, 5 will attend Emporia State, and 5 will take their scholarship to Fort Hays State. The Rudd Scholarship is earned through a competitive selection process that requires grades, test scores, essays, letters of recommendation, and for the 50 semifinalists a personal interview. The process opened in the Fall and drew hundreds of applications from all four corners of the state.



To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition


Lincoln Sentinel-Republican

P.O. Box 67
Lincoln, KS 67455