When calculations were complete, California, New York and Texas will receive the largest distribution of all states. Kansas will receive a total of $1,250,000,000 in the first of three rounds of federal relief. Additionally, Johnson County will receive $116,311,034 directly from the federal government, and Sedgwick County will receive $99,636,917 as a direct federal distribution. A total of $400 million will be distributed to the local (county) governments.

To aid in the administration of these funds, the State of Kansas has created a committee known as SPARK, an acronym for Strengthening People and Revitalizing Kansas. Information about SPARK and its committee members can be found at State Representative Troy Waymaster, Luray, is a member of the SPARK steering committee as the chair for the House Appropriations Committee.

The SPARK team has decided unemployment figures and COVID-19 rates have had a significant impact on the local economies. They have divided the $400 million in county aid into two parts. The first part, $350 million, will be distributed according to population at the rate of $194 per person. The second portion, called the impact fund, requires all counties to be evaluated and the shares to be determined by COVID and unemployment rates. The amounts forwarded to each county will vary based on these factors. The average COVID-19 rate is 3.3% with the average unemployment rate at 11%. Lincoln County’s COVID-19 rate is 0%. Our unemployment rate is 3.6%, up from 2.2% in March.






To read more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition

Lincoln Sentinel-Republican

P.O. Box 67
Lincoln, KS 67455